Blogging and Monetization

If I was to monetize Rated E, I think I would choose primarily advertisement and corporate sponsorship. I would also leave the option to donate via Paypal because it couldn’t hurt anything. (If possible, and if I was really gaining a significant fanbase, I would perhaps sell merchandise but that isn’t likely to happen with opinionated/review blogs.)

Because my blog is based on the opinions and reviews of movies and TV shows, it would be easiest and most beneficial to do advertisement. It’s the perfect type of blog for advertising because it targets a very specific audience that has a significant amount of people; advertisers who would feature on my blog would be upcoming films and perhaps films that don’t get enough advertisement on TV or in theaters. Perhaps straight to DVD films could feature their advertisements. New upcoming shows that aren’t projected to have high ratings for their premiere could advertise and perhaps boost their numbers. The same can be said for corporate sponsorship except it would be more genuine and would not in any way take away from how followers may think of my blog. Services like Netflix could perhaps give me a discounted membership. Film companies could send “indie” movies to me and I would watch them and review with my honest opinion.

Both of these options would be perfect for my blog and it wouldn’t take away credibility or the integrity of my blog because my blog is very easy-going and there is no formula. I watch whatever interests me and I state my honest opinion. Occasionally, I’ll watch something that others recommend or something that catches my attention but there is nothing that I wouldn’t necessarily watch except for things in the horror/gore category. I would even watch thrillers. Readers of my blog wouldn’t suddenly feel cheated or annoyed by the advertisements and sponsorships because they would be relevant. I don’t think anyone would think of it as “selling out” or anything like that.

Leave a Reply

