Blogging: Anonymity

When reading blogs that have an anonymous writer, I think that it definitely depends on the type of blog it is. I don’t know that it matters one way or the other to me. Most blogs are anonymous and maybe it’s just the way I look at them or I’ve learned about them but blogs seem to be online journals or diaries. I think personal blogs can have as much anonymity as a writer sees fit. I have a personal journal and I don’t write my name in it because in the event that it gets lost, I don’t want people to know who wrote it. I don’t write anything bad (so far) about my friends or anyone but I would still like to be unconnected to the information if it was found by someone. I think the writers of personal blogs should be allowed to be anonymous because some just write online to get it out or to express themselves; many are just venting or processing their life. Many people argue that they should write in a book but I think personal blogging allows for a person who may feel alone to have different, objective opinions or words of support while still essentially keeping their vulnerabilities and secrets hidden-hidden because they aren’t connected to a person in the way of a face or  a name.

Even personal blogs that post about outside information- books, cooking, daily adventures, movies, etc- should be allowed to be anonymous if the writer so chooses. People tend to search a person online before deciding whether it is worth knowing the person; it’s honestly just another way to judge someone and while it is mostly alright on a social level, everyone knows that little rants on a blog post are not going to aptly represent a person’s worth ethic or a person’s relevance to a job. Just as we would not spy on a person as they interact with their friends at a bar to gain information, we shouldn’t be able to look at personal blogs or profiles of anyone to gain information either. For this reason, I completely understand why a person would want to remain anonymous and I don’t necessarily have any reaction to a blogger who chooses to do so.

However, if a person is trying to get into professional blogging, they should perhaps give a real name or at least establish an alias and contact information, just so that they give a more professional impression. They should also provide some credentials that show that they have validity when they speak on their subjects (but again, this depends on what subject they want to speak on)

I think Tumblr is an excellent example, though it’s rather small compared to legitimate blogging. I occasionally will write personal blog posts on my Tumblr and I used to complain about a person if she annoyed me or if she was rude and I liked the anonymity, not because I was afraid that she would find out about me but because I didn’t want others to find out about her. I think that, yes anonymity does probably encourage negativity but there’s nothing wrong with it as long as it isn’t hurting someone. People are allowed to be negative and they are allowed to feel bad about something or someone. I think anonymity can actually be a good thing if used correctly. In my case, the only way anyone would know who I was talking about was if they went to my school and actually knew who the person was in relation to me. The only way the person would ever see the posts about her would be if she found my blog. Her identity and mine, for the most part, is protected.

Leave a Reply

