Live Blogging and How I Consume Media.

I have quite a few passions, but  one of the only ones that seems to be subject to the ferocious smack of the live blogging machine, is my love for television. I’ve always waited until shows had reached their end before I started to watch them. I wanted to forget about the years of spoilers I’d come across and let all that information I’d heard, just kind of float away, before I started watching something.

However, with the introduction of live blogging, more specifically, the in-depth level that it was taken to in the show Breaking Bad, was actually integral in changing the way that I consume much of my newer television experiences. After hearing so much about the incredible live blogging that they do for the show, I decided I needed to start trying to watch each episode as they rolled out every week.

Not only was there a Twitter account that tweeted everything as it happened, but they also had Breaking Bad Story Sync which was an interactive webpage that was consistently updated with information about what was going in the episodes. You might find out what was going on the set when it was shot, or some tidbit of lore that you hadn’t known. This version of live blogging added a whole different element to how anyone can ingest their digital television. Not only can you listen to what anyone has to say about the show, as its happening through Twitter hash tags, but you can actually learn something that the average joe just watching it on tv, won’t ever know.

In most cases, I still prefer to just sit down and consume an entire series from beginning to end, over the course of a few weeks. I think the live blogging method is a fantastic idea, but I don’t believe it’s meant for every show. Only the shows that show true promise and depth that could benefit from the extra exposure and expansion of their ideas, should be the ones that are live blogged to such a degree as AMC has done with their recent hits. One of the biggest downfalls of live blogging is quite obviously the spoiler. In my personal opinion, I think we need to find a universal way to warn of spoilers. Unless of course we suddenly find ourselves surrounded by thoughtful folks who care about how what they post might actually ruin somebodies good mood, if even for a moment. The likelihood of that is slim, but I am a dreamer. Until the day that happens, I will likely avoid places like Twitter and Facebook until I’ve consumed an episode of anything that anyone I know might enjoy. In a way, I think this might actually be bad for the companies that are producing the content that gets live blogged. While it attracts many people, it may also force people away from a show as they desperately attempt to hide from the spoilers.

 

Leave a Reply

