Annotated Bibliography 6

Rouhani has yet to deliver on press reforms in Iran” CPJ Committee to Protect Journalists. March 13,2014. Web. April 6 2014.

The final bibliography article I’ve chosen to use, is a continuation of the last. Written eight months after its predecessor, this article goes into quite some detail about the extent of human rights violations made by Iran, and about the as of yet unfulfilled promises by new President Rouhani, to reopen the 4,000-member Association of Iranian Journalists. According to CPJ (Committee to Protect Journalists), they found that Iran was the “second worst jailer of journalists” and ranked “first among countries from where journalists have fled into exile over the past five years.” Now considering the article I am reading, is one written by CPJ, I will surely do a little digging to find out what their credentials are that back up the data they’ve found, but if their methods are solid, this is quite a scary set of data for Iranians and any other countries looking to emulate Iran’s successful attempts at stifling its citizens ability to speak out.

Rather than restoring some normalcy and rights to Iranian journalists, as he promised, Rouhani has continuously resorted to new repressive tactics. A common charge amongst the accused is “propaganda against the regime.” The article goes on to list a handful of the many Iranian journalists who have been arrested, jailed indefinitely, and “suffer from severe health problems caused by torture, poor prison conditions, and lack of hygiene and medical treatment.”

Having earned my first degree, an Associates in Journalism, stories like these are incredibly humbling. Were I an Iranian student, it is quite possible I would have turned my journalism degree into a career speaking out against the regime, and in so doing, sealed my fate as I fall apart in prison. Stories like this make a person so incredibly grateful to be born in a country where idea of freedom of speech and press is relatively protected, at least from atrocities at the level they see in Iran. This article will work very nicely with my paper. It gives me several personal directions I can take my study in, and somewhat of a timeline to work with. I believe the key to bringing my whole paper together lies in the story of one or two Iranian journalists stuck sadly watching Rouhani break the promises he made during his election, from prison. By following Rouhani’s actions in his short time (so far) as President, I may be able to make predictions on whether or not he ever intends to ease up on the anti-media hatred.

Leave a Reply

