What Is Social Media?

In my own words I think I would describe social media as communication.  Social media allows you to connect with people all over the world in the blink of an eye and be.. social.  Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, and Facebook are all the kinds of social media that I am most familiar with.  Growing up in today’s age we grew up with these technologies and websites so it’s very easy for kids my age to get on a social media site and communicate with someone.  Social media has also become a way of promotion as well.  So many businesses these days have on their ads “Check us out at facebook at….”.  But back to my main point I would say communication what drives social media.  I know for me I get a lot of my news from twitter, or someone will post a picture of their friend on instagram because it’s their birthday so that’ll remind me to reach out to that person.  Or I have friends that live all over the country but with facebook I’m able to keep up with what they’re doing or chat with them whenever I want, and that’s really the main reason I even have a facebook at this point, to stay connected to people. Overall social media has become the modern day way to communicate with friends, family, potential consumers of a product, and the over all masses, all in the blink of an eye.

Leave a Reply

