Lauren DiCioccio and Blogging

While there isn’t a direct correlation between blogging and Lauren DiCioccio’s paintings, her artwork can really tell you about layout and its importance.  All of her pieces look like magazine pages in which she uses dots of color to take the place of words.  She indents and ever text wraps white space that contains what would be thought to be a quote.  Being an art history major, I tend to get really analytical with artistic pieces (maybe sometimes too much, oops!) but her portfolio is really representative of modern art and the direction it has taken towards the media.  I was curious about her artist statement, and what she said really struck me.  “My work investigates the physical/tangible beauty of commonplace mass-produced media-objects…this transition is a good thing- faster transmission and distribution of information, streamlined systems, openness to user input, less waste. But a hole is left behind by the disappearance of these everyday objects.” (Read the full statement here)

I think, depending on the blogger, the focus really shifts between content and layout.  I know personally, I’m really anal when it comes to choosing my layouts because I come from a family of graphic designers.  The information on the blog may be really excellent, but it’s the layout that captures and keeps the readers.  I know that isn’t the case for every blogger though. I’ve seen some really awful layouts- especially on food allergy blogs written by mothers or family members that are less tech savvy.  Their intent is to get the content to the audience but they don’t realized that they don’t keep that same audience.

Leave a Reply

