Three blogs to look at

Three blogs I really like are Spoiler Tv, Buzzfeed and Thats What She Read. Spoiler TV provides spoilers for popular TV shows and networks as well as up-to-date news on movies and celebrities. Buzzfeed is a general blog but you can follow specific parts of it such as the Entertainment blog or the Celebrity blog. Thats What She Read is a personal blog where a girl discusses what she read and what she likes and recommends, etc.

Spoiler TV is my favorite blog so far. I think it’s really useful and it will aid my blog tremendously. However, I don’t really like it personally for the kind of blog that I would want. Spoiler TV will be a good resource but I wouldn’t necessarily want to emulate it. In my previous post, I mentioned that it looks cluttered despite it being organized. Unfortunately, the cluttered, busy look it has can be a turnoff. I wouldn’t want my blog to look like Spoiler TV because it just seems like there’s a lot going on. And that’s fine for the kind of blog that it is but I know that it wouldn’t work with the kind of blog that I want. Another problem is that though they are very informative on their subject, they lack emotion and opinion. Things regarding opinion tend to be polls so Spoiler TV isn’t really something I would read to be primarily entertained. Overall, while Spoiler TV is a good counterpart/resource to my blog, it isn’t really the direction that I am trying to take with Rated E.

Buzzfeed is more like Spoiler TV in that it updates objectively. It differs however, in that it updates on what is important or already relevant. It is biased because it is concerned with pop culture. Spoiler TV updates on a schedule about the shows that are airing- they can’t change a week and only blog about Elementary or Game of Thrones. They have to maintain every show. Buzzfeed does not necessarily have to follow this formula. They have a “What’s Hot” page and a “lol” page as well as a “wtf” page which all reflects how concerned with popular culture they are. The posts are a bit more opinionated and personal but even that is skewed to reflect assumed “popular” thought.

Thats What She Read is really the kind of blog I’m aiming for; it’s a simple blog and it doesn’t boast anything. It’s simply her and her honest opinions and reactions on a subject that matters to her. I am going to attempt to do the same. I’m really going to try to be honest (even if it’s negative) about the shows and movies I’m watching and the writing that goes into both. Her layout is very simple and very reflective of a personal blog unlike Buzzfeed and Spoiler Tv. It’s a more personal feel which is what I’m going for. I really like her overall layout and her voice. However, she tends to talk about her personal life a lot. I understand it’s a personal blog but her name and her About page don’t really reflect it accurately; I expected it to be nothing but book reviews but instead, she occasionally writes about her family and what’s going on in her life.

Leave a Reply

