The Skinny Confidential

I came across the “The Skinny Confidential” blog after searching through its platform “Bloglovin.” The header/ theme is what really caught my attention. They were both pink and “girly” and so it made me want to read on further. I soon figured out that this blog was self-hosted by a girl named Lauryn who started the blog a few years ago and it is still successful today. Above the fold their was a cute picture of herself that showed me she was fashionable which strikes a commonality between us. I soon came to realize she blogs about all of my favorite things such as fashion, beauty, hair, fitness, food, etc. In order to get to these links, instead of having them on a sidebar, she has them located horizontally listed across the top of her blog page making it more like a navbar. Although it is not a sidebar, it is still placed in a convenient place with easy access. The links are broken up into the categories listed above.

This blog is very inspiring to me because it is a similar concept to what I would like my blog to be like. I would like to have an index like hers in the sense that it caught my attention immediately and it was obviously geared more towards girls than boys. Lauryn has definitely made her blog unique by basically having a mission statement located also located above the fold stating “start small, think big” in a big triangle. I can relate to this statement because this is my first blogging experience so I do not know much which means I am starting small but one of my goals this semester is to make a successful blog to continue with after the class ends. This thought is me thinking big. So I think the fact that Lauryn has creating a blog that is so relateable is what made her successful. Now I realize some of the things my blog must encompass in order to do well! I really recommend the ladies of this class to check it out. She also has an instagram and twitter to go along with the blog! @theskinnyconfidential

Once I reached the bottom of the page I did notice her footer. Although it does not say her name, it says the blogs name with a copyright C in a circle above it and the years its been on the web. This was interesting to see because it makes it makes Lauryn’s blog more official. Since this blog is so intriguing to me from the front-end, it makes me very curious to what it’s like from her point of view in the back-end. I also like how she reblogs other people’s links to things she finds interesting. Overall in blogs, I like when authors reblog other bloggers. It shows their true interest in blogging and and creates a type of community.

Along with the mission statement I spoke about earlier, she also has an image which represents her and her blog. The symbol is a triangle and this is because they start small at the top and grow bigger at the base which is exactly what her MS is preaching. It is a very witty idea and I appreciate the thought behind it.

Image

After each picture she posts she has tags to go along with them. This is familiar with me already from other social media sites such as instagram that use the same technique. The purpose of this is to receive more reblogs and attention when bloggers visit these tag sites.

Overall I think this was a very sophisticated blog. I enjoyed many things about it and I will definitely be checking it frequently!

Leave a Reply

