What Is a Blog?

A blog is a place where a person can express themselves and share their interests with others who have the same interest as them. – Carla

To me, a blog is any digital space in which the author expresses themself. Blogs are digital journals, a place where you can write, draw, storyboard, imagine, etc. – Skylar

Maybe, a blog is a space where someone can share for better or for worse their immediate interests, feelings, or knowledge. I feel like this is more of a broadened perspective that can fit many different aspects of blogs. – Roxy

A blog is many things, depending on the author/contributor. For some, a blog is a shareable journal of sorts. A place where they can put down their personal ideas/thoughts and share them with any group of people they desire, sometimes for feedback and other times just to get it out of their head. For others, a blog is an easy and direct way to dispense factual information on any topic imaginable. – Michael

In my own words, a blog is a certain type of webpage that is a collection of a person’s thoughts, feelings, and interests that a person wants to be able to share with the world. – Pat

To me, a blog is an online social platform where you can post entries to about any particular topic. It is meant for other people to read and comment on, sort of like a journal or a diary that you would not mind other people reading. – Ekta

Like a piece of painting or a song, blogging can be a form of art. I believe a good blog requires creativity and innovation. Blogs are not written in a formal way, bloggers may develop their own unique voice in their posts. – Kim

Blogs are very subjective; they rely on their creators to do what they will with them. They are the ultimate form of freedom of expression that you can do really productive things with. – Crysta

In my own words I would describe a blog as sort of a journal in a way. You write down about your hobbies or something specifically like one hobby that interests you. You do research on the topic or maybe you already know a lot about this topic and it is something that you yourself actively participate in, and write about it but instead of a journal that is kept secret and just for your own eyes you are putting it on the internet for other people to read. – Ricky

…a blog is a website where a person can express their opinions and share information on a specific topic through pictures, videos and words open to the public to view. – Jillian

Blogs are like op-eds in that they’re personal and subjective; they can document pretty much whatever a blogger wants, from personal experiences to instruction manuals to responses to current events. They are also interactive because they usually utilize other media (videos, music, etc), links, and comment sections to expand on ideas and invoke discussion. – Kristen

I think a blog is a means of recording life. I don’t want to use the word diary but when I think of a blog, I think of a log that updates about whatever subject the author chose. It could update daily, weekly, or monthly but a professional one would most likely be consistent and frequent with their updates. – Emma

17 comments

  1. I agree with many of the statements above, but I especially believe that blogging has a very personal element to it. Any form of art is grounded in communication, and when someone starts a blog I believe more often than not it is to share their innermost thoughts with the world. I also believe that the nature of a blog allows for conversation, so a blog simply isn’t a spouting of ideas, but a place to share and collaborate with others who, without the convenience of internet, couldn’t be reached.

  2. I think this is a great compilation of our ideas. Everyone has their own idea of what a blog is but none are incorrect. Some specific ideas I liked were the description of it being like an op-ed. I had to do an op-ed recently and that is a very good way to describe a blog. I am surprised I did not think of that myself! I also liked it being called some sort of a diary because I agree with that also. It may not be too much personal info involved like a diary but if I get my first choice for my blog I will be posting pics of me and my friends that goes along with the idea of my blog! So in a way it can be personal like a diary. I agree with everyone’s idea of what a blog is and so I think this will definitely be successful blogging class!

  3. I think this is a great compilation of our ideas. Everyone has their own idea of what a blog is but none are incorrect. Some specific ideas I liked were the description of it being like an op-ed. I had to do an op-ed recently and that is a very good way to describe a blog. I am surprised I did not think of that myself! I also liked it being called some sort of a diary because I agree with that also. It may not be too much personal info involved like a diary but if I get my first choice for my blog I will be posting pics of me and my friends that goes along with the idea of my blog! So in a way it can be personal like a diary. I agree with everyone’s idea of what a blog is and so I think this will definitely be successful blogging class!

  4. Blogs are extensions of the creative mind. These interactive digital journals are home to the limitless energies stirring in the imagination, longing for expression.

    1. I really like Carla’s definition of a blog. A blog is a means to connect to others with similar interests. In addition, it is a way for an individual to express himself/ herself.

  5. Based on the class’s response, there is no one concrete answer to what a blog is. I notice how a few people described it as like a journal or diary, which I believe is a great way to describe it, Along with journals and diaries, it also can also be considered an electronic scrapbook as well. Also, I think the class can agree that a blog is the modern form of freedom of expression, through the use of the internet.

  6. My favorite definition of what a blog is came from Crysta. “Blogs are very subjective; they rely on their creators to do what they will with them. They are the ultimate form of freedom of expression that you can do really productive things with.” That’s a great way to put it because that’s what blogs are: creative freedom and expression that the author can do anything he or she wants with.

  7. I love that there seems to be some cohesiveness in everyone’s response Universally I feel like we are saying similar things even if there are nuances within those descriptions. Definitely, definitely stressed importance on a form of creative expression which I think we all sort of agreed on. It does feel like an unconfined space in many ways, one which can be built and molded.

  8. I think it’s so interesting that though we all answered in our own words, many of us had similar thoughts on what we each individually thoughts blogs were. I really liked Emma’s definition of a blog as a vehicle to help record life. Essentially, that’s kind of what we’re all doing. Blogs often focus on a certain aspect of our interests and build upon it. It allows the creator to establish their own little domain; it does become sort of like a diary.

  9. I really think that all of our responses together do a pretty good job of defining what a blog is. I think we can all say that the artistic freedom behind running a blog is pretty good, and also how blogs can be personal diaries or run by a larger group of people. The social aspect of blogs is also pretty cool

  10. Everyone’s definition of a blog is different, but that is what makes a blog unique. A blog can be anything someone wants it to be. This is what makes it so fascinating that you can blog about any subject and any person access to the internet can follow what you write.

  11. I love that we’ve found so many different ways to express the same thoughts! It is truly amazing how such a seemingly simple platform can have such varied impacts on the lives of it’s consumers/contributors. I am excited to see how each of us can contribute to the group, and how our own personal blogs will take form. It’ll be fun to see how our own definitions of a blog will grow and change along with our experience!

  12. I found it amazing how even though we were all supposed to talk about what a blog is in our own words, we all seemed to reach similar conclusions. And that is the best part. That even though we all have our own ideas about it, it ultimately comes down to the same thing. I agree with much of what everyone said. I particularly found it interesting when Kim compared blogging to an art form. Not many people would consider blogging to be an art, so that is an interesting spin to explain it.

  13. I think we were all pretty accurate and said most of the same things; we agree on blogs being a form of expression and we also agree that it is somewhat a record of things. I especially liked Kim’s definition because she touched on creativity and innovation as well as a blogger’s “voice” and I think that’s an important aspect of a blog. Our “voice” is what sets us apart and because we use blogs as a reflection of ourselves, I think a certain voice or personality should show through for a blog to be successful.

  14. I think it’s funny how we all seem to have similar definitions of what a blog is, even though it’s supposedly could be interpreted to be anything. If that made any sense….I agree with emmasaji about Kim’s definition and how she mentions “voice”. I also liked how she calls blogging a form of art, your voice being the tool you use to create it in a way. It’s interesting to refer to blogging as art, opposed to the typical comparison to a journal/diary.

  15. I really enjoyed reading everyone’s interpretation of a blog. It really shows how we all define a blog in a similar way yet we each have our own unique way of thinking. I really liked Ricky’s definition of a blog in relation to a journal. This explains how a blog is a great way to express yourself and display your thoughts on the internet.

  16. I am on the same page with everyone regarding blogs being something subjective. personal, and public. Blogs are the newest utility used to communicate ideas and opinions in our socially active world. I think voicing one’s own opinion is important, but what is more significant in blogs is the opportunity for the masses to respond and react to your opinion. And so I guess there is even a sense of bravery when it comes to blogging because you are opening yourself to the world of criticism regarding your personal opinions, and also give the critics a site where they could find you at all times.

Leave a Reply

