Kristen D-K

My name is Kristen Dimitrov-Kuhl, though it’s easier to abbreviate to D-K. I don’t know why my parents chose to hyphenate their names for sure, but I suspect it’s because my Dad didn’t want us to suffer from cruel nicknames like he did as a child (Kuhl is pronounced as “cool”). My mom has a really funny story about my dad getting thrown off a mechanical bull because the operator wanted him to live up to his name.

I’m an English major and I am terrified to think that I’ll be graduating next May. I genuinely enjoy school and I wish that there was some way for me to get paid to be a student for the rest of my life. Career-wise I still don’t really know what I want. I’m looking for internships in publishing at the moment but I’m also considering becoming a high school English teacher. I would also like to go to grad school one day but I guess it really depends on what I decide to do.

olivegardenchickengnocci

“Uh, yeah, I’ll have the chicken and GAH-NO-CHEEEEE”

Up until recently, I worked as a waitress at the Olive Garden. I hated my job, but I can also say that it has given me a whole new appreciation for people who are stuck waiting forever–and also that I never, EVER want to do that again. Day to day stuff was predictably dehumanizing, but what irritated me the most about my job (and this is probably highly irrational) was when customers tried pronouncing Italian words with ridiculous accents. For example, saying “MOO-SER-ELL” instead of mozzarella like any sane person would. I  can’t really explain it without sounding crazy but there’s something so obnoxious and grating about it. Their accents were probably as authentic as our food. I’m starting a new job next week at a thrift shop called Plato’s Closet and I’m mostly excited that it’s not a restaurant.

One of my favorite things to do with my free time is read. I can’t think of any point in my life when I wasn’t reading something, and now that I have a Kindle I pretty much have hundreds of books on me at all times. Currently I’m really liking The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie–though I haven’t had too much time to read now since I’ve been back at school. I really like how he plays with language, sorta like a cross between Vladimir Nabokov and Kurt Vonnegut.

I also burn up a lot of time binge watching TV episodes on Netflix and reading the blog, Jezebel…usually at the same time. The posts straddle the line between thought-provoking and trashy, but it’s definitely a guilty pleasure of mine. Also the commenters can have a lot to contribute to the conversation. I also enjoy drinking with my friends whenever we’re all free.

Well, that’s pretty much all there is to know about me. I’d say I’m a pretty laid-back (though overworked) person just going through the motions.

4 comments

  1. Working at Olive Garden as a waitress must be quite stressful. Wish you all the best in getting an internship and all your other endeavors!!

  2. I just spent a better part of my winter break marathoning Netflix shows- I understand that pain/glory. I also read the Satanic Verses recently- Rushdie’s biography Joseph Anton is also wonderful if you get a chance to check it out!

  3. I took up waiting tables recently myself and I completely understand where you’re coming from. I had no idea how dehumanizing it could be until I was faced with the droves of irrational people that I’ve always known existed, but did my best to avoid. I work at a steak house so I don’t have to deal with the pronunciation problems most of the time, but I’ve actually come to enjoy the hundreds of different ways people try to pronounce quinoa. I’m also a binge series watcher and I just started reading the novel S by JJ Abrams and Doug Dorst. It’s a novel within a novel and something I’ve been suggesting to everyone I know!

Leave a Reply

