Greetings from the Sky

Hi Everyone! My name is Skylar and I am a junior majoring in communication and minoring in English and Digital Communication, Information & Media. I am from West Chester, Pennsylvania and I am the third of eight kids in my family. My siblings have some very interesting names and my friends are always telling people about them so I might as well share them with you. Their names are (from oldest to youngest) Cee Jay III (25), Holden Cross (23), Me (21), Willow Star (19), Dex Christian (15), Luca Bravo (12), Laser Blue (9), and Jet Maxim (4). And before you ask, all of them are from my mom and dad, no half siblings. My dad is an architect and actually did his undergrad at Rutgers, while my mom is a stay-at-home mom. I went to Catholic and private school growing up and spent eight years at an all-girls school. I happened to love it and I really miss wearing my uniform kilt everyday.

Me and all of my sibling s on Easter last year

Me and all of my siblings on Easter last year

For the last two years I have worked for The Daily Targum, in several different capacities. I began as a contributing writing, worked my way up to staff writer, and then became an editorial assistant before becoming the current Managing Editor. The Targum is a 145-year-old paper, making it the second oldest collegiate newspaper in the country. I originally joined the Targum because I wanted to be a double major in Journalism and communication before I found at that Rutgers does not allow you to double major within SC&I. I never thought that I would be where I am today, but I can honestly say that joining the Targum was the best decision of my life. I have learned so much, more than I could have ever learned in the classroom, and was even able to travel to Yale, San Francisco and Atlanta to represent the Targum in several collegiate newspaper conferences. Though my term ends in two weeks, I will not be finished with the Targum as I have plans to continue working there, though this time in the business department, rather than the editorial department. I am also currently the communications intern at the School of Social Work and interned at SC&I in the PR department over the summer. I don’t know exactly what it is that I want to do after I graduate, though I do know that there are plenty of things I’d be more than happy doing. I will most likely be applying to jobs that fall under PR, social media, editorial and/or event planning. I hope to move to California after graduating and work there for a few years before eventually moving back to the East Coast.

P.S. My favorite candy is Reese’s! I could never ever ever live without peanut butter.

I’m really excited for this class and cant wait to get started on my personal blog, especially because I’ve always wanted to be a fashion blogger! It just seems like they have the coolest jobs, though I’m always baffled as to how they make enough money to buy all of that designer clothing.

4 comments

  1. Hi Skylar! Wow that’s so awesome you have such a huge family! I am from a big family too but not as big as yours, only half of that haha. I am one of four myself! That’s really cool though, being from a big fam is a lot of fun 🙂

  2. Hey Skylar! I’m also really interested in PR, was thinking about double majoring in Journalism and Media Studies, and in fashion as are you. I obsess over designer clothes and you are so right as to how ridiculous the cost for any piece! 😦

  3. My mother grew up in a family as big as yours. It’s kind of nice because everyone can always help each other out in times of need. I love reading the Targum while waiting for class to start! Keep up the good work!

  4. Hi Skylar,

    It’s a bit of the same in my family. My little cousin’s names are Xavier Nathaniel and Chase Jordans. I also have a little cousin names Skylar (haha).

    That’s so cool, working for the Targum. I hope you get to go to California!

Leave a Reply

