About Crysta

Hi! My name is Crysta. I’m a senior currently preparing myself for graduation in a few short months (yikes!). I’m a double major in Art History and English with a specialty certification in Cultural Heritage and Preservation Studies. I work at Scarlet Fever here in New Brunswick which, I think, it a fantastic job.  We supply Rutgers apparel to students and fans; it gets really busy the days leading up to big game days but those are my favorite to work.  I also have an internship at one of the art auctions houses, Christie’s, in New York City this semester.  I’m currently wrapping up my applications to graduate school to continue my education in preservation and conservation of tangible and intangible artistic heritage.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it’ll work out well!

I have a severe case of wanderlust; my parents passed the travel bug to me when I was little.  I spent the summer before my junior year studying the chronology of artistic styles in Paris for six weeks and this past summer I was fortunate enough to work in Poland and study in Prague for a few weeks prior.  Both experiences were absolutely incredible: I got to collaborate with museum coordinators to discuss why and how they displayed the material.  I had never realized how much actually goes in to displaying artifacts and art.  It really is a craft in itself. I also got to experience so many things that I probably would never have had the chance to. I’m hoping that when I enter the job world, I can get a job that will allow me to travel.

my first jump

I am one jump away from getting my skydiving license so that I can perform the jumps solo instead of tandem.  I’m looking forward to the spring so that I can get back on the plane (and then subsequently off).  The adrenaline rush you get from falling through the air is seriously wonderful.  It doesn’t even feel like you’re falling, really. Even though you’re essentially plummeting to the ground, you almost feel weightless. It’s a bizarre rush and one that my mother wishes I didn’t have. I am also a yogi. I practice yoga five times a week; I find that it really does help with relaxation especially during finals and midterms.

I took this course because I don’t really know much about blogging. I’ve never had one personally because I never really had much to say about any one subject in particular, but have always been intrigued by them.  I’m excited to learn about them and start a little one of my own.

2 comments

  1. Crysta,

    I think it is so awesome that you skydive! This is definitely a scary hobby. I admire not only that you jump at all, but that you are going to be able to jump alone soon. I have always wanted to skydive so maybe one day you can be my instructor!

  2. I am so jealous! I have been wanting to skydive for so long and have just not taken the time to do it. This may just be the inspiration I need to get to it! I’ve been dying to go to Prague. I have been all over but the setting there seems so inspirational! I will get there eventually, I’m too driven to miss out on it. Where do you want to go for graduate school?? I have a little longer before I make that decision but I’m looking into Columbia and Syracuse for Fiction.

Leave a Reply

